College Effectiveness Committee

Agenda – Electronic Meeting October 2015 Vernon 204 and CCC 712

Welcome

-Review of committee membership (39):

Vernon College Position	Member	Present	Not Present
Director of Institutional Effectiveness and SACSCOC Liaison	Betsy Harkey, Chair		
Dean of Administrative Services	Garry David		
Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid/Registrar	Joe Hite		
Dean of Instructional Services and SACSCOC Leadership Team	Dr. Gary Don Harkey		
Dean of Student Services	· ·		
Associate Dean of Instructional Services	Shana Drury		
Associate Dean of Student Services	Kristin Harris		
Division Chair - Communications, English Instructor	Joe Johnston		
Division Chair - Behavioral and Social Sciences, Government	Greg Fowler		
Instructor			
Division Chair- Information Technology, Industrial	Mark Holcomb		
Automation Instructor			
Division Chair- Math and Science, Math Instructor	Dr. Karen Gragg		
Director of Admissions and Records	Amanda Raines		
Director of Continuing Education	Christina Feldman		
Director of Financial Aid	Melissa Elliott		
Director of Human Resources	Haven David		
Director of Institutional Advancement	Michelle Alexander		
Executive Director, Vernon College Foundation			
Advancement Specialist - Recruiting	LeAnn Scharbrough		
Institutional Support Specialist	Jim Binion		
Director of Library Services	Marian Grona		
Director of PASS Department/ Coordinator of Office for	Deana Lehman		
Students with Disabilities			
Director of Quality Enhancement and SACSCOC Leadership	Criquett Lehman		
Team			
Early College Start Coordinator	Melissa Moore		
Instructional Design and Technology Coordinator, Faculty	Roxie Hill		

Counselor	Clara Garza
Faculty, Speech Instructor	Dr. Donnie Kirk
Faculty Senate Representative, History Instructor	Jason Scheller
Faculty, English Instructor	Misti Brock
Faculty, Math Instructor	Dr. Brad Beauchamp
Faculty Senate Representative, SACSCOC Leadership Team	Bettye Hutchins
and History Instructor	
Business Office Manager	Mindi Flynn
Student Forum Representative	Jackie Polk /
Student Government Representative	Sjohonton Fanner/
Administrative Assistant/Associate Dean of Instructional	Judy Ditmore
Services	
Administrative Assistant/Human Resources – Physical Plant	Toni Bell
Administrative Assistant/Instructional Services	Linda Haney
Administrative Secretary to the President	Mary King
Employees Forum Representative	Waiting on election
Employees Forum Representative	Rosa Alaniz
President and SACSCOC Leadership Team	Dr. Dusty Johnston

- Review of College Effectiveness Committee Purpose and Responsibilities (Exhibit A)
- Approval of September 25, 2015 minutes (Exhibit B, Action Item) document was emailed to CE Committee members. Use email voting buttons to approve/reject.
- Student Learning Measures Update (Exhibit C): Dr. Brad Beauchamp and Dr. Gary Don Harkey
- Director of Institutional Effectiveness Update:
 - Student Success by the Numbers Committee met on October 16, 2015. Primary agenda items included:
 - o Review of SACSCOC timeline
 - Review of Title III objective, strategies, timeline, as well as Oversight Committee, ERP/SIS Task Force and Student Success Pathways Task Force responsibilities
 - o Completed communication forms as well as the 2015-2016 Assessment and Report Calendar and General Glossary. As communication forms were completed, members were reminded that all titles (on form, in calendar, in glossary) should be the

same, communication forms should include highlights of data and not just restate or define the assessment/report, and glossary definitions should be checked/updated each time a communication form is completed.

- o Data Update
- o Vernon Campus Preview Day plans by LeAnn Scarborough
- Student Success by the Numbers Initiative at a Glance updates due to Betsy by October 30, 2015

SACSCOC:

- Compliance Certification (10 year report) Responsibility Matrix and Deadlines (Exhibit D) Primary writers are marked on the
 document. There are still a few criteria/standards that have not been claimed by a primary writer. Please discuss and contact Betsy
 with the name of the designated person.
- Dr. Johnston offsite review notes (Exhibit E) This is an ongoing project by Dr. Johnston. Prior to the next College Effectiveness Committee meeting the members are asked to review the requirements and Dr. Johnston's notes for 1.1 thru 2.12.
- QEP Development Task Force update (Exhibit F) Criquett Lehman

Planning Calendar for October

- The Board of Trustees reviewed and approved the 2016-2020 Strategic Plan components including Philosophy, Vision, Values, Mission and Long Term Objectives during their October 21, 2015 meeting.
- Review and approve documented evaluation of 2014-2015 Annual Action Plan (Exhibit G, Action Item)
- Review and approve documented evaluation of 2014-2015 Institutional Effectiveness Plans (Exhibit H, Action Item) reminder that 2014-2015 was considered a pilot year. Suggestions for process improvement should be forwarded to Betsy.
- Completed 2015-2016 Institutional Effectiveness Plans due to Betsy Harkey by November 13, 2015. This process includes utilizing information gleaned from 2014-2015 results to: update department/program expected outcomes in support of the Vernon College Primary Goals and Assessments used to measure expected outcomes. Contact Betsy with questions.
- Review and approve Primary Goals for 2016-2020 (Exhibit I, Action Item)
- Review and approve Priority Initiatives for 2016-2017 (Exhibit J, Action Item)

- Title III, Strengthening Institutions Program update First meetings for the Oversight Committee and Task Forces were held on October 23, 2015. The agenda included discussion of grant objectives, strategies, timelines and the evaluation plan.
 - Oversight Committee: Garry David, Joe Hite, Dr. Gary Don Harkey, Kristin Harris, Amanda Raines, Michelle Alexander, Deana Lehman, Criquett Lehman, Roxie Hill, JoAnn Marquart, Brandi Brannon, Melody Bell, Kevin Winkle, Darian Leija, Cameron Hughes, Dr. Dusty Johnston, Betsy Harkey chair
 - ERP/SIS Task Force: Garry David, Joe Hite, Dr. Gary Don Harkey, Shana Drury, Kristin Harris, Amanda Raines, Melissa Elliott, Haven David, Michelle Alexander, Deana Lehman, Greg Fowler, Roxie Hill, Christie Lehman, Mindi Flynn, JoAnn Marquart, Dr. Bradley Beauchamp, Rebecca Ashlock, Jim Binion, Dr. Dusty Johnston, Criquett Lehman interim chair
 - Student Success Pathways Task Force: Kristin Harris, Michelle Alexander, Roxie Hill, Jackie Polk, Clara Garza, JoAnn Marquart, Dr. Donnie Kirk, Michael Ruhl, Sjohonton Fanner, Jeanne Ballard, Amanda Raines, Christie Lehman, Amber Hunsaker, Melissa Moore, Dr. Dusty Johnston, Brandi Brannon chair
- Meeting schedule: November 20 and December 18 (electronic)
- Adjournment